PrairieCat Governance

PrairieCat is governed by two bodies:

Delegates Assembly

The PrairieCat Delegates Assembly is the membership body that approves the budget, major purchases and membership changes for the consortium and meets quarterly in July, October, January and April each year. Each Fully Participating or Basic Online member library shall appoint its chief administrator or another staff member to act as the Delegate on the Delegates Assembly. The Delegate may also designate, in writing, an alternate to vote in their absence. The four Union List member representatives are also voting members of the Delegates Assembly.  Delegates Assembly attendance is a membership requirement for Fully Participating and Basic Online members.

The official list of Delegate Assembly Delegates and Alternates is provided below.  Please send changes in writing to Carolyn Coulter, PrairieCat Director.

Administrative Council

The Administrative Council is an eleven member elected board that sets policy and makes recommendations to the Delegates Assembly for major purchases, the budget, and membership changes. The Administrative Council meets monthly, rotating meeting sites within the PrairieCat service area.  Members of the Administrative Council, their elected seat and the expiration of their term, are listed below. Administrative Council elections are held each spring.

PrairieCat is subject to the Open Meetings Act, and members of the Administrative Council must complete the electronic OMA training once during their term of election or appointment. The training must be completed within 90 days of assuming their office. The Public Access Counselor’s Office’s OMA electronic training is available free of charge at:
http://foia.ilattorneygeneral.net/

Seat

Office

Name

Email

Library

Term Expires

Tier 3 Public

Treasurer

Victoria Blackmer

victoria.blackmer@prairiecat.info

Robert R. Jones PLD

30-Jun-2024

Tier 3 Public

Penny Bryant

penny.bryant@prairiecat.info

Pecatonica PLD

30-Jun-2024

Tier 1 Public

Emily Faulkner

emily.faulkner@prairiecat.info

DeKalb PL

30-Jun-2022

Tier 1 Public

Ashley Huffines

ashley.huffines@prairiecat.info

Freeport PL

30-Jun-2024

At Large

Secretary

Laura Long

laura.long@prairiecat.info

East Moline PL

30-Jun-2023

Tier 2 Public

Emily Porter

emily.porter@prairiecat.info

Byron PLD

30-Jun-2022

At Large

Vice-Chair

Charm Ruhnke

charm.ruhnke@prairiecat.info

Peru PL

30-Jun-2023

Tier 2 Public

Beth Ryan

beth.ryan@prairiecat.info

Johnsburg PL

30-Jun-2024

At Large

Chair

Patti Smith

patricia.smith@prairiecat.info

Robert W. Rowe PLD

30-Jun-2022

Academic/Special/School

Laura Watson

laura.watson@prairiecat.info

Highland Community College

30-Jun-2022

At Large

Michelle Krooswyk

michelle.krooswyk@prairiecat.info

New Lenox PLD

30-Jun-2023

Governing and Legal Documents