PrairieCat Governance

PrairieCat is governed by two bodies:

Delegates Assembly

The PrairieCat Delegates Assembly is the membership body that approves the budget, major purchases and membership changes for the consortium and meets quarterly in July, October, January and April each year. Each Fully Participating or Basic Online member library shall appoint its chief administrator or another staff member to act as the Delegate on the Delegates Assembly. The Delegate may also designate, in writing, an alternate to vote in their absence. The four Union List member representatives are also voting members of the Delegates Assembly.  Delegates Assembly attendance is a membership requirement for Fully Participating and Basic Online members.

The official list of Delegate Assembly Delegates and Alternates is provided below.  Please send changes in writing to Carolyn Coulter, PrairieCat Director.

Administrative Council

The Administrative Council is an eleven member elected Board that sets policy and makes recommendations to the Delegates Assembly for major purchases, the budget, and membership changes. The Administrative Council meets monthly, rotating meeting sites within the PrairieCat service area.  Members of the Administrative Council, their elected seat and the expiration of their term, are listed below. Administrative Council elections are held each spring.

PrairieCat is subject to the Open Meetings Act, and members of the Administrative Council must complete the electronic OMA training once during their term of election or appointment. The training must be completed within 90 days of assuming their office. The Public Access Counselor’s Office’s OMA electronic training is available free of charge at:
http://foia.ilattorneygeneral.net/

Seat

Office

Name

Email

Library

Term Expires

At Large

Vice-Chair

Michele Arms

michele.arms@prairiecat.info

Cherry Valley PLD (CH)

30-Jun-23

Tier 3 Public

Chair

Penny Bryant

penny.bryant@prairiecat.info

Pecatonica PLD

30-Jun-21

Tier 1 Public

Emily Faulkner

emily.faulkner@prairiecat.info

DeKalb Public Library

30-Jun-22

At Large

Secretary

Laura Long

laura.long@prairiecat.info

East Moline Public Library

30-Jun-23

Tier 3 Public

Jeff Munson

jeff.munson@prairiecat.info

Franklin Grove Public Library

30-Jun-21

Tier 1 Public

Treasurer

Lauren Offerman

lauren.offerman@prairiecat.info

Three Rivers Public Library District

30-Jun-21

Tier 2 Public

Emily Porter

emily.porter@prairiecat.info

Byron Public Library District

30-Jun-22

At Large

Charm Ruhnke

charm.ruhnke@prairiecat.info

Peru PL

30-Jun-23

At Large

Patti Smith

patricia.smith@prairiecat.info

Robert W. Rowe Public Library District

30-Jun-22

Academic/Special/School

Laura Watson

laura.watson@prairiecat.info

Highland Community College

30-Jun-22

Tier 2 Public

Julie Wayland

Julie.Wayland@prairiecat.info

Princeton Public Library

30-Jun-21

Governing and Legal Documents